Best of Elwood Strutter Sutton

Elwood Strutter Sutton & Friends

Price $16.97

E.J. Gold was in the studio recording vocal mic tests with his new Neumann mic. He was singin' the blues.

Between tracks he said, "Elwood Strutter Sutton, 1927, crossing Madison and 53rd going west was hit by a truck. He never got to record. He was on his way to a job."

Elwood came in on this session which took the form of a mic test, and Gold let the blues come out. Elwood said that "Rebop" was dedicated to his good friend Milt Hinton.

Track List

  • 1. Empty Rhythm Blues
  • 2. Rebop
  • 3. How Could I Be Blue
  • 4. No Time To Rhyme
  • 5. When You Find Your True Love
  • 6. Strutter's Blues
  • 7. Growing Gray With You Dear
  • 8. Body Part Hop
  • 9. Goin' Downtown
  • 10. Another Roadside Abstraction
  • 11. Let's Go (Party With Me)
  • 12. I Ain't Seen You For A Little While
  • 13. When We Were Sixteen


  • 2001 Cloister Recordings. All rights reserved.
  • All songs 2001 Accardi/Gold (BMI)
  • Published by Union Label Music
  • Produced by E.J. Gold
  • Engineered and mastered by Oz Fritz
  • "Rebop" is dedicated to Elwood's good friend Milt Hinton
  • Recording Artists:
  • Elwood Strutter Sutton - vocals
  • Jimmi Accardi - guitar, keyboards
  • Bob Bachtold - drums
  • Bob Canatsey - tenor sax
  • Chalkie Gold - bass
  • E.J. Gold - alto sax, harmonica
  • Robbert Trice - harmonica
  • Cover art by E.J. Gold, "Elwood Strutter Sutton," pastel on velour, 2001 hei