Good Vibes

Bachtold / Gold

Price $16.97

"This is one of the most interesting projects I've been involved with in some time. Try to visualize if 1950's cool chamber jazz had taken a rather sharp left turn and gone straight into the 1990's.

Rather than relying on block structural harmonies, the deceptively complex interplay of supporting and conflicting melodies creates a very dynamic and unusual space. The utilization of specific instruments and calculated reverb and echo spaces add to the complexity. The music is at once very familiar, yet very different. It takes a space shift from where it would normally go. These sounds create a sense of interesting paradox - an odd paradox having to resolve familiarity with unexpected rhythmic instrumental interplay." -- Bob Bachtold

Bob Bachtold is a veteran of over twenty years of experience as a drummer, percussionist, composer and arranger in the jazz, rock and contemporary idioms. For the past several years Bob has been exploring new realms of music consciousness through unique applications of computer and midi technology - and coincidentally in close contact with Jeff Spencer.

If you were to examine the many layers of which this polyrhythmic jazz album is built, you would realize its broad base in the late 50's jazz. Hancock, Rebenack and others influence its direction in a considerable way and also, in an inspirational way.

-- Y.T.

Track List

  • 1. Lizards in the Lounge
  • 2. Pteranodon
  • 3. Archaeopteryx
  • 4. Chameleon
  • 5. Roc Ad Hoc
  • 6. Pterodactyl
  • 7. Ichthyosaur
  • 8. Allosaurus
  • 9. Triceratops
  • 10. Brontosaurus
  • 11. Eohippus
  • 12. Diplodocus
  • 13. Devonian Delite


  • All music 1989 Bachtold / Gold (BMI)
  • Published by Union Label Music
  • Produced for CD by E.J. Gold
  • Mastered for CD by Jimmi Accardi
  • 1998 Cloister Recordings. All rights reserved.
  • Recordings artists:
  • E.J. Gold - Vibes, Bass, Piano
  • Bob Bachtold - Drums
  • Recorded in Gateways Studio, Nevada City, CA
  • Cover art: Dimensional Tweak, serigraph 1989 by E.J. Gold