The Boy From Ireland


Price $16.97

Zeb was nine and playing a quarter size fiddle when this album was recorded in 1989. He was studying classical violin with Ona Cropper in Vancouver, at the time.

At home, during his daily practice, I'd sit in and accompany him on the mandolin, showing him tunes from the deep well of Irish music, which then he used to love to play.

Around about this time a friend suggested I go into Blue Wave, lay down some music, and send it on to him.

Unable to resist, I asked Zeb if he would help me out on the project. Thus was born The Boy from Ireland.

With this re-mastering from Cloister Recordings you too may share in the pleasure and good fortune I enjoyed as Zeb's musical companion, friend and right hand man. Thanks Zeb. -- Séamus, September 2000

We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams... Yet we are the movers and shakers of the world forever, it seems. Arthur Ó'Shaughnessy

Dedicated to the memory of Chief Seattle & Bill Dundon.

Track List

  • The Blackbird.
  • The Ballydesmond Polka Set.
  • The Auld Resting Chair. Tom Anderson - Shetland Islands.
  • The Boys of Ballisodare. The Butterfly. Tommy Potts. Dublin, Ireland.
  • The Road to Lisdoonvarna - for Kaia. The Burnt Old Man.
  • Give Me Your Hand. Rory Dal Ó'Caghán, c.1640 The Eagle's Whistle. Ancient. Ó'Donoghue Clan, Co. Kerry.
  • The South Wind. The Song of the Chanter.
  • Kerry Polkas.
  • The Cottage in the Grove.
  • Sí Beag Sí Mór The Boy in the Gap, for Bill Dundon.
  • The Boy from Ireland, for Áine. Ó'Carolan's Draught.
  • Kerry Slides.
  • Ó'Carolan's Receipt.
  • The Foxhunter. Slip Jig.
  • My Love's an Arbutus.
  • Nine Points of Roguery.


  • © 2000 Cloister Recordings. All rights reserved.
  • A Sword of Light Music production
  • Originally recorded at Blue Wave Studios, Vancouver, BC, Canada. February, 1989.
  • Special thanks to Tom Lavin, Blue Wave Studios
  • All music traditional
  • Arranged by Zeb Pigott-Duggan and Séamus Duggan
  • Engineered by Marcel Duperreault
  • Remastered for CD by Grammy Award winner, Oz Fritz
  • Recording artists:
  • Zeb Pigott-Duggan - fiddle
  • Séamus Duggan - mandolin
  • Liner art: Line drawing by Thames & Hudson Celtic artist, Aidan Meehan